26 Questions – Fandom Edition

Note: OTP means One True Pairing

Your current OTP: Rumbelle (Rumplestiltskin & Belle from Once Upon a Time)

A pairing you initially didn’t consider, but someone changed your mind:  Dramione (Draco & Hermione from Harry Potter.)  I initially didn’t like hetero pairings at all, much less any involving my favorite HP boy Draco (I’m a huge yaoi/slash (boy on boy) fan)  But I finally encountered a few fanfiction writers who wrote very good Hermiones and it made me see the character and therefore the pairing in a new light.

A pairing you have never liked and probably never will:  Tea (Anzu) & Yugi/Yami from YuGiOh.  I absolutely hate Tea’s character.  I find her whiny and annoying and preachy and stuck-up.  So pretty much any pairing including her is going to get passed on by me.  Especially with the main character because I never felt that their True Love thing was going to work.  It seemed forced.

A pairing you wish you liked but just can’t:  Spidypool (Deadpool & Spiderman from the Marvel universe.)  I just…I love Spidy.  He’s adorable and punny and amazing.  Deadpool is just hilariously awesome and there are not enough words to express my love for him.  But with Spidypool just…no.  I can’t get down with that, sorry.

Have you added anything stupid/cracky/hilarious to your fandom, and if so what?  I’m terrible actually.  One, I’m incredibly multifandom.  Two, I’m constantly writing bad fanfic in my head for all of them.  A lot of it is self-insertion.  The only upside is that it mostly stays in my head and I don’t actually write it down (anymore.)  I think the worst thing I ever did to a fandom was when I did an OC insertion into Harry Potter and promptly turned the series (especially the 5th year) into a musical.  A musical that included the “Honkey Tonk Badonkadonk.”  I beg your forgiveness.

What’s the longest you’ve ever been in a fandom?  Hard to say.  I’ve liked The X-Men since I was like 5.  I still watch all the old Disney movies that came out when I was little, and the TV series made of them as well (I had Aladdin animated series fanfiction in my head at one point.)  I’ve also been watching the WWE on and off since I was small so that’s carried over.  You can give most of the fandoms I like a 10 + years on my involvement.

Do you remember your first OTP, and if so who was in it? My very first?  Jeeze, I think a couple of my very first OTPs were Scott Summers/Jean Gray and Rogue/Gambit.  I’m not sure if there was anything before those two.

Do you prefer characters from real action series or anime series? In some ways, I prefer anime characters because there’s much more ridiculous stuff that can go into the character or series and it still seems perfectly normal.  But I think I like book characters the absolute best because there’s so much more you can expand upon for the world and the series and the characters and it can still fit the author’s original work well.

Has Tumblr caused you to stop liking any fandoms, and if so which and why? No Tumblr hasn’t diminished my love for any fandom.  I like Tumblr because it’s kind of a one-stop shop for fanfiction and fanart and it’s very multifandom.  When I get into a fandom, I do so in a very personal way, and the only other real community I have is with my real life friends.  I do interact with other people who share in my fandoms here on Tumblr, however, I stay the hell away from all the fandom fights and stuff.  I don’t appear to have attracted any crazies to my blog either to ruin for me and I plan to keep it that way, which involves me keeping my own opinions/theories/whatever mostly to myself or expressing them through reblogging other people.

Name a fandom you didn’t care/think about until you saw it all over Tumblr: Supernatural.  Seriously, I never cared about the show.  Didn’t look interesting or anything.  But one of my best friends is a nerd for it and then I get on Tumblr and a lot of the blogs I follow with other common interests are posting it everywhere and I’m like “fine, I’ll go watch the blasted series already!”

How do you feel about the other people in your current fandom? I’m mostly involved in the Rumbelle fandom and the people I follow and interact with there are the sweetest and most talented people I’ve found anywhere.  They’re seriously friendly, immensely talented and just as obsessed as I and while I’m not particularly close with any of them (I don’t talk with them a lot) I do feel connected to them and would love to be closer friends with a lot of them.

Your favorite fanartist/author gives you one request; what do you ask for?  I ask rufeepeach for Rumbelle fanfiction where in Fairytale Land Rumple gives Belle the library like they do in the Disney movie.  Bonus points for throwing in smut.

Your favorite fanart or fanartist:  Hard to narrow it down.  I probably like Amy Mebberson’s Disney stuff the best (mimi-na on DeviantART.)

Your favorite fanfiction or fanauthor: Currently the title is held by ruffeepeach because she’s an amazing author, with kansaskissedlips a close second.

Choose a song at random.  Which OTP does it remind you of and why?  One of my favorite answers to this question is The Cab’s “Her Love is My Religion.”  This reminds me of Rumbelle so very, very much I actually made a fanvideo of it.

Invent a random AU for any fandom (we always need more ideas):  I really, desperately want to see a WWE Musical.  I am thinking of writing this.  Where breaking out in song and simultaneously punching people is entirely normal.

A ship you’ve abandoned and why: I don’t ever really abandon ships, as for me there’s no reason to.  I can always write different endings or invent ways to get them back together if they’ve canonically broken up.  If they’re non-cannon to begin with well there’s really nothing at all to stop me from loving them forever, at least a little bit.  I’m also very, incredibly loose with my pairings, being able to see a character as a lover to more than one other character.  So I don’t sweat it.  Even if I haven’t stuck a toe into the fandom in forever, I will go back to the same ships when I revisit stuff.

A pairing you ship that you don’t think anyone else ships:  Rule 34 claims that this cannot happen.  Someone, somewhere ships it.  But I think one of my least popular ships is Sesshomaru/Kagome or maybe Sesshomaru/Kagura, though I haven’t been involved in the Inuyasha fandom for a while.  I don’t remember a few of the Sakura pairings to be very popular (I like her with Itachi, Rock Lee and Gaara.)  I also happen to be a huge fan of YuGiOh’s Silentshipping (Seto Kaiba & Serenity Wheeler) which I remember as having like zero fans.

Show us an example of your personal headcannon:  Oh I just had one of these the other day watching something (maybe wrestling) with my dad.  I think I like, predicted John Cena’s divorce.  I was casting him as divorced in my head about 6 months before it was filed.  I’m pretty sure me and a friend of mine predicted Katherine’s kid getting kidnapped (CSI) and Munch being shot in the ass (Law and Order: SVU.)  But there are an awful lot of things I’ve accepted as headcannon, so I’m not sure I could name it all.

If you mostly have homoships, do you have any heteroships?  I have an ass ton of ships.  So yes, I have a lot of boy/boy ships and a bunch of hetero ships and some girl/girl ships there too.  Those keep growing on me.

Are you one of those fans who can’t watch anything without shipping?  I can but it comes too easy; especially because love interests are set up in some way or another on pretty much every TV show and in every movie.  I usually refrain in movies that are purely a consequence of their genre (a typical action or horror movie for example) but deeper things, especially in series, easily fall victim because the author or writers are trying to set up some friendships and romantic relationships anyway.  So I think that shipping is natural in that respect.

5 favorite characters from 5 different fandoms:  Rumplestiltskin (Once Upon a Time), Hiei (Yu Yu Hakusho), Draco Malfoy (Harry Potter), Spencer Reid (Criminal Minds), Loki (Marvel Universe.)

3 OTPs from 3 different fandoms:  Rumbelle (Rumplestiltskin & Belle from Once Upon a Time), Dramione (Draco & Hermione from Harry Potter) and Puppyshipping (Seto Kaiba/Joey Wheeler from YuGiOh.)

A fandom you’re in but have no ships from:  I’m not a huge shipper on the Revenge front.  Like, I like what they’re doing and where they’re going and the relationships they’ve set up by I have pretty much nothing concrete in my head about what ships I like and don’t.  Nolan is the easiest to ship, but he can literally be with any boy and I won’t care.  But I also don’t tend to ship much from the sitcoms, so I have nothing to show for my love for 2 Broke Girls and Suburgatory.  Also Person of Interest has no personal ships for me, though I left off on that in the second season.

Just ramble about something fan-related go go go!SPOILERS – OMG I cannot believe Hook actually SHOT BELLE.  He SHOT her!  And over the town line she goes so now no more memories and in the course of Rumple trying sosososo hard to get them back for her she SHATTERS THE FUCKING CUP.  THE cup.  The one thing poor Rumple had the first time he lost his Belle and now it’s fucking gone and he doesn’t even have that for comfort.  Now he’s off to find his son and can’t even have hope that he’ll come home to his lover and they can be a big happy family because he still has to fix her.  But true love’s kiss didn’t work and now what can he do?  Will fairy dust work at all? Can he even get some?  No one in town likes him!  Arrggggg!!!!!

Leave a Reply

