The Chronicles of Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader Review + Writer’s Block

WARNING!  MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS
Don’t like?  Watch the movie first.


I don’t usually like to review movies in a series like this, especially ones that are based on a book.  My prefered way to do it is to read the books, in order, then watch the movies that correspond with each book right after and do a comparison.  Now, I’ve read the whole Narnia series.  I’ve read them several times over and I own a whole box set.  Voyage of the Dawn Treader is the fifth book and one of my absolute faves of the series.  So I was excited when 1) they decided to do the whole Narnia series as movies, rather than just the most popular one and 2) that they actually made and released this movie.  I didn’t get to see it in theaters but when it showed up on my On Demand, I definitely took the first chance I got to see it.

For those that don’t know, Voyage of the Dawn Treader is about the two youngest Pevensie children, Edmund and Lucy, getting sucked into Narnia with their cousin Eustance and going on a voyage aboard one of Prince Caspian’s boats, named Dawn Treader.  The real meat of the book is watching how, in the adventures, Eustance goes from being the spoiled rotten absolute brat that he is to someone worth liking.  He at first doesn’t believe his cousins or believe that any of what he’s seeing is real, and he acts like a real jerk.  But slowly he realizes that this is real and he stops being a twat and begins acting like a better, more honorable person.

The main adventure is that these three are helping Caspian try to find the seven lost Lords of Narnia that his usurper of an uncle banished.  There’s another plotline following this that wasn’t in the book that concerns this mysterious green mist and how to banish it.  I also don’t remember the ending of the book being quite the same as the one in the movie, but it’s been awhile since I’ve read that book so I might be mistaken on that.

The characters, or most of them, are ones that we’ve met before and we know we love.  Edmund can be stubborn and stupid but he’s generally honorable now and good-hearted and a valiant king, etc.  Lucy is, as always, adorable and beyond kind but we get a little bit of a different look at her here. The movie reveals a shade more of her flaws, mostly her wish to be more like her older sister, Susan.  Caspian is admirable and valiant, especially on this quest to rescue the lords his uncle banished and left to die.  Reepicheep is undeniably the coolest character ever.

The real character of note here is Eustance.  His development is essential not only to the plot of the story (he ends up being a real help to Caspian and the Pevensies) but to the last two books of the series in general.  He really illustrates the effect Narnia can have on a person.  He’s incredibly annoying and has the most stunning bad attitude at first.  But his selfishness gets him into a lot of trouble and he has consequences to face (which he’s never had before because his parents let him run wild) and in suffering those consequences, he changes into a decent person.

It’s a great, adventurous atmosphere, with a fantastic soundtrack and the setting and world that we get are breathtakingly beautiful.  I believe they even did the “getting to Narnia through the painting” scene wonderfully well.  Only problem I had was that they introduced a fear element to the movie that I honestly didn’t like much.  But it was a small flaw in an otherwise really good movie.

Final Thoughts:  I’m only giving this a 4.5 out of 5 because I didn’t like what they added to the story that I know but other than that it’s a really good movie.  Great for kids because of all the adventuring and there are dragons and lots of great stuff for kids.  Even a talking mouse!  Adults will enjoy it too, especially if they were fans of the books.  The movies appear to be trying to stay close to cannon and it shows.

Now for the Writer’s Block

Do you have a bedtime routine?  What do you do and what’s the biggest consequence when you don’t get those things done?

I have a fairly complicated bedtime routine that changes with whether or not I need to take a shower.  A bit of information first.  I have horrible skin.  I mean horrible.  I have a pretty bad case of eczema.  It was worse when I was a teen and puberty made the thing nearly impossible to manage.  It’s better now that I’m 25, but still not easy to deal with.  This means showering everyday is out of the question unless I want to spend an hour cleaning up the bathroom after.  Reason: if I shower everyday, then I need to use baby oil to moisturize after because no lotion will get my skin right and if it’s too dry, then the flare-ups are worse.  Baby oil takes forever and a day to clean up.  So I shower about every other day.

When I shower, I wash my hair (shampoo & conditioner) then my face (a cleanser and then St. Ive’s Apricot Scrub, the blackhead and blemish one.) Then I shave, then body wash (Oil of Olay’s Body Wash with the Body Butter Ribbons in it.  Only thing that’s moisture-heavy enough for my dry skin.)  When I get out, I use a Curel lotion on my body and Aveeno’s Intensive Repair Overnight Therapy lotion for my face.  I also use the My Favorite Night Balm from the brand of lip stuff that Bath & Body Works sells (the shit really does last light eight fucking hours.  It’s amazing and I never wake up with chapped and split lips anymore.  Bad sinuses, horrible mouth breather. That’s me.)

If it’s not shower day, then I change my clothes for bed, braid back my hair (or it will choke me in my sleep.  It’s kinda really long.  One of my coworker’s calls me Rapunzel because of it.)  and then wash my face and brush my teeth.  If I have any flare-ups from the eczema, I’ll spot treat them with cortisone cream and then it’s on with the balm and on to bed.

Deviation from this routine means I’ll probably get a really bad bout of itching and a flare up from the eczema.  Anywhere from my lips to my neck, chest, back and the backs of my knees.  In order to keep my skin at a comfortable level, I have to have a pretty intensive skincare routine and the best time to do it is at night.

Leave a Reply

