WB: “We Built This City on Rock and Roll”

So one of the more recent Writer’s Block questions I got was this, given by mitelimkopuyor:

What are your favorite song lyrics, and why?

Jeeze this is kind of a hard one for me. Mostly because my favorite song (“Butterfly” by Crazy Town) isn’t exactly a gem for lyrics. I like it for a bit more than that. But lyrics can be one of the most essential things of a song for me. A good lyric in a song can take something I would have ended up hating and turn it into something I love.

So…what about I do this by genre?

So the first genre would be blues and I think my favorite blues artist is Billie Holiday. My favorite Billie Holdiay song is “Gloomy Sunday.”

Little white flowers will never awaken you.
Not where the black coach of sorrow has taken you.
Angles have no thought of ever returning you.
Would they be angry if I thought of joining you?

Then there’s country. To be honest, country is not my favorite genre. Especially not what we would consider traditional country. My usual line is that if it hits the pop charts then it’s no longer country, which helps me with this next category. Kinda.

So I do like one Kenny Chesney song, which is “She Thinks My Tractor’s Sexy.” Those lyrics make me laugh. But as for actual country singers I have about…4 I think that count. Carrie Underwood is the first, and I think my favorite Carrie Underwood song is actually the one she did for the movie Enchanted.

Storybook endings, fairy tales coming true.
Deep down inside we want to believe they still do.
And a secret is taught; it’s our favorite part of the story.
Let’s just admit we all want to make it too.

I also enjoy Faith Hill, though in a more limited sense. Like ’90’s Faith Hill.

Ooh I love the way you, love the way you love me.
There’s no where else I’d rather be.
Ooh to feel the way I feel with your arms around me.
I only wish that you could see
The way you love me.

Then in newer music there is Lady Antebellum. I have only recently come to enjoying what they put out and the first song of theirs that I liked was “Need You Now.”

It’s a quarter after one
I’m all alone and I need you now.
Said I wouldn’t come
but I’ve lost all control and I need you now.
And I don’t know how I can do without
I just need you now.

And beyond that I believe that Taylor Swift can really do no wrong. She’s just good at what she does. And that’s being catchy as hell and a damn talented singer/songwriter to boot. This one is my new favorite.

I remember how it felt sitting by the water
and everytime I look at you it’s like the first time.
I fell in love with a careless man’s careful daughter.
She is the best thing that’s ever been mine.

(I may have also forgotten Sheryl Crow and Shania Twain in there…)

There are a lot of sub-genres in the electronic category, most of which doesn’t have words. However, I am a HUGE fan of Eurodance, which does have a fair amount of lyrics. Eurodance/Eurobeat is mostly the stuff I do my para para too. Some of the songs I like are: “Mysterious Time” by Y&Co, “Bitch is a Bitch” by DJ Hope ft Stefy, “LOVE” by Sonic Dream, “Take My Love” by FETISH, and “She’s So Sexy” by Dark Evil ft Tanith.

I’m not a huge fan of Hip-Hop & Rap either but I listen to more of that then to country. I tend to judge the two genres as nearly the same. Most of what I would consider hip-hop is labeled as rap in my Zune. Either that or I end up labeling it as R&B. Depending. So…I was once asked who my 5 favorite rappers were and to tell the truth I don’t think I have 5 favorites. I can tell you that in the top are Busta Rhymes (for his talent and his speed) Eminem and Mike Shinoda (from Fort Minor and Linkin Park.)

These ideas are nightmares for white parents
who’s worst fear is a child with dyed hair and who likes earrings.
Like whatever they say has no bearing.
It so scary in a house that allows no swearing
to see him walking around with his headphones blaring
alone in his own zone cold and he don’t care.
He’s a problem child and what bothers him all comes out
when he talks about his fuckin’ dad walking out.
‘Cuz he hates him so bad that he blocks him out.
If he ever saw him again he’s probably knock him out.
His thoughts are whack. He’s mad so he’s talking back
talking black; brainwashed from rock and rap.
He sags his pants, do-rags and a stocking cap.
His step-father hit him so he socked him back
and broke his nose; his house is a broken home.
There’s no control, he just lets his emotions go…

He doesn’t need his name up in lights.
He just wants to be heard, whether it’s the beat or the mic.
He feels so unlike everybody else, alone
in spite of the fact that some people still think that they know him.
But fuck ’em he knows the code.
It’s not about the salary, it’s all about reality and making some noise,
makin’ the story, makin’ sure his clique stays up…

So we then get the idea of pop, and pop is probably my favorite genre. And there are a lot of sub-genre’s of pop that I give notice to. In general, my favorite pop queen is, was and always will be Mariah Carey.

Dream lover come rescue me
take me up, take me down, take me anywhere you want to baby now.
I need you so desperately.
Won’t you please come around?
‘Cuz I wanna share forever with you baby.

But pop has a lot of subgenres, as I mentioned. One of my favorites is bubblegum pop. Like…the Spice Girls:

And we know that you could go and find some other
take or leave it cuz we’ve always got each other.
You know who you are and yes you’re gonna break down.
You’ve crossed a line so you’re gonna have to turn around.

(It’s probably here that I should mention I adore Melanie C as a solo artist. Love love love her song “Carolyna.”)

Then there’s Europop. Which terms pop band starting out overseas, mostly in Britain, without necessarily sucess over here in America. Two of my favorites are the boy band Busted and the band Aqua (known over here for the song “Barbie Girl” and that is probably the worst song in their repetoire.)

That’s what I go to school for
even though it is a real bore.
You can call me crazy
but I know that she craves me.
That’s what I go to school for
even though it is a real bore.
Girlfriends I’ve had plenty
but none like Miss McKenzie.
That’s what I go to school for.

Sometimes the feeling is right,
you fall in love for the first time.
Heartbeat, and kisses so sweet.
Summertime love in the moonlight.

French pop is also something I got into and I fell in love with singer Alizee. The first song I hear was “Moi…Lolita.” But I think my favorite is either “Mademoiselle Juliette” or “J’en ai Marre!”

I do love Japanese pop (shortened to J-Pop) as well and my favorite artists are Ayumi Hamasaki, BoA (especially BoA) and Ai Otsuka. I also like a lot of the Idol bands like AKB48, C~ute, and Perfume.

Korean pop (K-Pop) is also a new thjing I’ve ended up loving. I like SNSD and Wonder Girls an aweful lot but my absolute favorite K-Pop band is 2NE1. They can do no wrong in my eyes. Their newest single “Ugly” is just amazing. (In case you can’t tell, I believe you don’t have to understand the lyrics of a song to not only get the meaning and feeling of a song but to enjoy it as well.)

Sunhine pop is also something I like. This refers to most of the feel good pop band that came out during like the 50’s and 60’s or so. The Beach Boys is probably a really good example of this.

Your typical boy band/girl group or pop princess is actually in a pop category known as teen pop. I was a big fan when I was about 13 of those bands. I loved Backstreet Boys, N*SYNC, 98 Degrees, O-Town, Christina Aguleira, Britney Spears, Jessica Simpson, and Mandy Moore. I still own music by the A-Teens, 3LW, Dream Street, Aaron Carter, Lindsey Lohan, Hillary Duff, No Secrets, Play, and Dream. Destiney’s Child could also be considered in this group.

More recent teen pop bands that I could rattle songs off for include: JoJo, Jesse McCartney (a former member of Dream Street actually) Ashley Tisdale, Miley Cyrus, and Demi Lovato. (I am specifically leaving out The Jonas Brothers and Justin Beiber as I don’t like them as artists.)

Which moves us onto R&B as a genre. I like R&B a lot, and it’s subset, Soul. For R&B I don’t think I could like anyone better than Beyonce and Usher:

If I were a boy, even just for a day,
I’d roll out of bed in the morning and throw on what I wanted and go.
Drink beer with the guys, and chase after girls.
I’d kick it with who I wanted and I’d never get confronted for it
‘Cuz they’d stick up for me.

When you feel it in your body
you found somebody who makes you change your ways
like hanging with your crew.
Said you act like you’re ready
But you don’t really know
And everything in your past you wanna let it go.

As for soul singers, while I totally enjoy old-school soul queens like Aretha Franklin, I am absolutely in love with Alicia Keys:

Cause I am a superwoman.
Yes I am. Yes she is.
Still when I’m a mess, I still put on a vest
with an S on my chest oh yes
I’m a superwoman.

And then there’s rock. Which has about as many subgenres as pop but of which I care less about. So I’ll go by my rock gneres: Classic Rock, Rock, Metal, Gothic Rock, and Emo bands.

Classic rock I love a lot of, thanks to my parents. But I think my favorite classic rock band is The Eagles.

You can’t hide your lying eyes
and your smile is a thin disguise.
I thought by now you’d realize
there ain’t no way to hide your lyin’ eyes.

As for regular generic rock, I think of a band like Nickleback for that:

Well she ain’t no Cinderella when she’s getting undressed
‘Cuz she rocks it like the naughty Wicked Witch of the West.
Far to pretty to be giving it cheap
That’s why she’s making six figures working three days a week.
Well she’d even break a promise in the promised land.
She didn’t make it this far by just shakin’ hands.

Metal is probably the one subgenre I do not get down with on a regular basis. But one band has taken my heart there, against all odds. That one band is Otep. I loves me some Otep:

Here’s your introduction to destruction
and the hate sustaining me.
Are we safe or in danger?
Drowning in atrocities.
Riot gear, the slaves are here
piling corpses high.
It’s the rich man’s war but it’s the poor that fight.
More capitalist crimes, more enemies than allies.
No WMD’s, who gives a fuck if they die?
Just kill ’em all, watch ’em fall,
skin the world with their lies.
It’s the rich man’s war but it’s the poor that die.

Gothic rock comprises those bands that usually use a female front and occasionally orchestras in their music. Good bands to represent this are Evanescence, Nightwish, Lacuna Coil and Within Temptaion. WT is probably my favorite of these bands. Sharon den Adel can do no wrong in my eyes.

I see the angles, I’ll lead them to your door.
There’s no escape now, no mercy no more.
No remorse cause I still remember
the smile when you tore me apart.
You took my heart, decieved me right from the start.
You showed me dreams, I wished they’d turn to real.
You broke the promise and made me realize
it was all just a lie.

And then there’s emo. Emo is the kind of music that, in it’s purest form, is something I make fun of on a regular basis. As a result, I don’t listen to much of it. But there is some of it that I like and most of that comes from the band AFI.

I, I came here by day
and I left here in darkness and found you
found you on the way.
And now it is silver and silent
it is silver and cold.
You want summer resplendence…

There is the Japanese and Korean versions of rock as well (J-Rock and K-Rock) of which I am more into J-Rock. Love me some Asian Kung-Fu Generation, Flow and Ellegarden.

I know this leaves out quite a few bands and songs that I really enjoy and whose lyrics mean a lot to me. Especially newer bands like Ke$ha and The Band Perry and Andy Grammer. But I love so much music that just giving you this rundown takes up a lot, if you couldn’t tell. 😉

Leave a Reply

