8 WBs

I’ve done a few WBs over the past few weeks and forgot to post them here.  So here we go!

#1:

Which book do you find yourself regularly rereading, and why?

I’ve already sort of answered this question before, but only because the answer to it goes hand in hand with other questions.

The book I always find myself picking up again and again, and rereading at least once a year, is The Secret Garden.  This is my favorite book of all time and I find it easy to get lost in the story again and again.  It’s innocent and yet it’s grown up.  It’s got characters that you hate and as they change, your feelings toward them change as well.  You start to see good where there once wasn’t.  It’s magical to me.

So yeah, this book will probably be one that my kids will be sick of me reading so much, but I don’t think I’ll ever stop.

#2:

What do you so strongly believe in that you would march in the streets to support, and why?

I wanted to answer this one a couple of days ago.  This one is easy for me to answer.

I strongly believe in helping support victims of sexual assault and domestic violence.  To the point where I would like to start my own foundation.  I’d like to advise victims of their rights under the law, and help victims get legal and psychological help.  I’d also like to find a way to distribute information to people to inform them of ways to protect themselves from assault and what to do if they are assaulted.  I hate that there is so much prejudice and skepticism surrounding sexual assault and domestic violence.  I want to change that, and helping victims do what they’re supposed to do will help people take them and their claims more seriously.  I want to change the way people perceive victims and what the victim goes through.

I also want to open up people’s minds a little and show them that the victims aren’t of just one category.  For instance, it doesn’t just happen to a certain type of girl in a certain area or of a certain intelligence.  It doesn’t just happen when a child is small.  Sometimes sexual assault and domestic violence can happen to men too.  I want people to stop looking at it from such a narrow standpoint.  I would be focused on letting all victims know that they are welcome to come seek help with us.

That’s my dream anyway.

#3:

What is your LEAST favorite movie of all time, and why?

I think the answer for that would either be I Am Legend or Skyline.  I have my reasons for each.

There is a whole huge rant for Skyline that I have backed up.  That movie was so retarded it pisses me off.  Especially once it goes up into the blasted space ship.  Rage.

And I Am Legend pisses me off because I absolutely adored that book and that movie ass-raped it.  To an extreme degree.  There is so, so very much wrong with that movie.

Worst movies ever.

#4:

Which movie sequel do you like better than the first, and why?

This one is easy for me.  Most sequels aren’t as good as the original, and of the ones that are as good there are very few that I like better than what came before.

But one of the few that I can say was heads and shoulders better than the original was X2: X-Men United.  I mean, the first X-Men movie was good but X2 just took the series to the next level.  Which made X-Men 3: The Last Stand even more disappointing to watch.

I just love everything about X2.  The dialogue, the plot set up and execution, the new characters and character development, the different scenery.  One of my top favorite movies.

#5:

If you could go back and change one event in your life (or un-say one thing you wish you’d never said), what would you choose, and why?

I suppose this one is sort of easy for me to answer too.  I don’t like to say that I regret anything in my life.  I like to think of every experience as a learning experience.  I wouldn’t know the things I know without having those life lessons teach it to me.

However, dating Ben was probably the worst thing I could have done in my life.  I was 19 when I started seeing him and I ignored all the clues that this was probably a bad idea.  He was about 10 years older than me, he had four kids from the start, and a couple of months into us dating he told me that his “ex” was pregnant with his fifth child.  Even my air-headed friend Kelly (who knew him a different way) told me this was a bad idea and I ignored it.

I tried for a year and a half to be happy with this man who wouldn’t even move out of the house that his “ex” (I use that term loosely) and his kids lived in.  I finally couldn’t take it anymore.  I ended up leaving him for a very loose idea of a relationship with a man who had a fiancee (but that’s a different story.  She knew about me, and she had an affair of her own.  Their relationship was pretty screwed.)

#6:

Which is your favorite classic Beatles’ song, and why?

I’ve answered this question before (a couple times before actually) but I really like “With a Little Help From My Friends.”  It just makes me happy.  I can’t help but smile every time I hear it.

#7:

Who was the worst boss you’ve ever had? Did you ever get your revenge?

His name is Jason.

First of all, he has zero words of encouragement for you about your work.  Ever.  But as soon as you screw something up, he yells at you about EVERYTHING you did for the past three years.

He would argue that the sky is green just to be right.  Even when the truth of what you’re saying is plain and clear.  Good examples:  Three people telling him error messages pop up on one register.  Him saying it never does that.  Me telling him that a void was unavoidable as person’s credit card wouldn’t work.  Him telling me I should have known that from the start and made him go to the ATM first.  How would I know that?  With my magical mind-reading machine?  Apparently yes.

Does not take others physical abilities into account.  Example: Moves all the most used toiletry products (or most bought chewing tobacco) to the top shelf.  Takes away the step stool as too many people are sitting on it.  I am 5’0″ and can not reach.  When I point this out, his solution is “grow taller.”  :-/  If I could do that I would’ve already (I’m 24, I stopped growing a while back.)  Also, was told that (me, the person who has to shop at petite stores because I’m too small) I “could walk into any store and find a pair of Dickies in my size.”  For the record, no I couldn’t.  I had to order them online and the only ones that fit me are junior sizes.  He didn’t believe the tag when I showed it to him.

Tried to ban Starbucks in the store and told a fellow co-worker that if she wore a Starbucks shirt to the store, he would rip it off of her.

Only reason I never got revenge on him is because he used that asshole-ness to help us workers out on occasion.

#8:

What is the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten? Was it any good?

Cricket.  I had this biology teacher once, this hippie weirdo and he somehow had developed a thing for crickets.  I don’t remember whether his were baked or just dried out but they were salty and crunchy.  Definitely the weirdest thing I had ever eaten, but I wouldn’t say no to it if asked to try it again.

(It’s not as weird as Gordon Ramsey.  Watch his show “Great Escapes” and see all the weird food he eats from other countries.  Including snake heart (still beating) in Vietnam.)

Leave a Reply

