Thrifty Book Spending

I love the Goodwill.  Well, technically Amvets, but I love pretty much any thrift store.  Goodwill, Amvets, Salvation Army…you name it I love it.  Not only because I love the idea and the practicality of reusing clothes and expanding my closet for way, way less than anywhere else.  No I love it because it allows me to spend money on my favorite items ever, for really ridiculously cheap.

For those of you who haven’t figure it out yet, I love love absolutely love and adore books.  I wish to own my own like real library some day.  And I’m an avid rereader as well (so long as the book doesn’t turn me off from the beginning, which in the books I own rarely happens.  I really should consider selling the books I don’t like or something but…lazy.)

And thrift stores carry large selections of books priced at stuff like $.25 for a paperback.  Now, there’s a lot of crap in these places.  Lots and lots of discarded Harlequin Romance mostly, which is a genre I absolutely detest.  BUT, if you wade through carefully, you can find a lot of books you’d really like to read.

For instance, I think I could collect literally all of the Babysitter’s Club novels if I went often enough.

And although most places price hardcovers and paperbacks differently (for instance, at Amvets a hardcover is $.79 and paperbacks are $.49 orr 3/$.99) there are those that just don’t care and give you everything together.  Amvets tends to just do the 3/$1 price on all of them.

So this is the haul I brought back after shopping for new work pants (and not wanting to spend another $30 on a pair of ill-fitting (though tough as hell) Dickies.)

Love, Lucy by Lucille Ball
And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie (I love Agatha Christie.)
The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane
Black Widow by Christina Crawford (I obtained and read Mommie Dearest last year.)
Congo by Micheal Crichton
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg
A Wife’s Revenge by Eric Francis
Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keys
Strangers by Dean Koontz
Fairest by Gail Carson Levine
My Sister’s Keeper by Jodie Picoult
Pledged: The Secret Life of Sororities by Alexandra Robbins
Anatomy of a Boyfriend by Daria Snadowsky
The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks

I got all of this for about $5.  I dare anyone to complain about that.  I can’t find a book on a store shelf for less than $8 nowadays.  I got 14 books for less than that.

Win!

Leave a Reply

