WB: The Start of Something Wonderful

Cross-Posted to LiveJournal.

I think I’m going to start posting all the answers to the Writer’s Block (WB) question that I do on LJ here.  I like some of the stuff they ask and I’d like to spread the word about it a little, to those that don’t like LJ the way I do.

Remember, I don’t answer all of the questions they ask.  Just the ones I like.

Today’s question:

What is your favorite opening line of a book, and why?

“When Mary Lennox was sent to Misselthwaite Manor to live with her uncle, everybody said she was the most disagreeable-looking child ever seen.”

It’s my favorite for a simple reason: it’s the start of my favorite book ever.  I love The Secret Garden with an undying fangirl-ism.  It’s such a simple story and yet it’s so captivating and it’s got such a good, upbeat feel and it makes you feel good and you just can’t get tired of it.  Ever, in my opinion.

This line is, of course, followed closely by:

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.”  – Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

“Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the Western Spiral arm of the Galaxy lies a small unregarded yellow sun.”  –The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

So what are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

